1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Restore or Undelete accounts or messages

Restore or Undelete accounts or messages

Deleted Users

If an email account is accidentally deleted it can be restored with the command:

tellmail restore_deleted user@xyz.com

If individual messages are deleted, and the recycling feature has been enabled then you can restore messages with the command:

Usage: tellmail undelete[_show] user@xyz.com days fromsubj

There is a command: tellmail purge_deleted_users DAYS which will delete all deleted user accounts older than ‘days’ old. By default deleted accounts are actually deleted after 60 days.

These files are stored in the G_ARCHIVE_ON_DELETE_DIR or archive_deleted folder

Deleted domains

If an entire domain is deleted by accident, then use the web admin tool, you will find a ‘restore’ button at the bottom of the list of domains, and some more detailed instructions on how to restore the lost domain.

(A ‘deleted’ domain has actually just had it’s mailbox_path renamed as follows: c:\surgemail\mbox\[domain] becomes c:\surgemail\mbox\__DELETED_[domain]_xxx where xxx begins at 000 and is only incremented if an existing directory by that name is found. To restore a previously deleted domain recreate it in the web admin then reverse the directory rename described here. In addition if you are using NWAuth you should find a ‘nwauth.bak’ file in the mailbox_path, append this file to nwauth.add to restore the users from the deleted domain.)

There is a purge button to actually remove deleted domains, and a restore button to undelete them.

If the ‘legal archive’ is enabled it’s also possible to search it for messages and restore them to the users account.

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support